Search The Hostwinds Guides Knowledge Base

How Can I Disable Auto Renew?

All Hostwinds products are subscription based, and therefore by default set to automatically renew. Excluding domains, the only way to prevent a product or service from renewing is to cancel it.

 

What If I Do Not Wish To Renew A Service?

If a service is meant to be discontinued, please be sure to cancel it before the due date. This requires filing a cancellation request on all services to be discontinued before the invoices are due. The cancellation requests must be filed, confirmed, and processed prior to 12:01 AM PST on the due date. Any cancellation requests placed after this time will result in a nonrefundable automatic renewal.

To cancel a product, please review this handy step-by-step guide on How to Cancel Your Services for review.

In the case of a service having add-ons, such as IP Blocks, Backups, or Licenses, it may be necessary to cancel these separately from the service they are attached to.  This is because we often will allow transferring these services to eligible products, especially in the case of product upgrades or service changes.  To determine if a cancellation  for add-on services is required, we have an article on how to Cancel Add-Ons which will help determine which add-ons need to be canceled separately.

 

What If I Want The Service To Automatically Cancel At The End Of The Billing Cycle?

Hostwinds does not offer automatic end-of-billing cancellations. If you wish to cancel your service at the end of the current Billing Cycle, you will need to file and confirm a Cancellation Request with Hostwind’s Billing Department prior to the renewal date.

 

Any Cancellation Requests filed and confirmed during the current Billing Cycle will be processed immediately; we will not continue your service to the end of the Billing Cycle, nor will we issue a partial refund for unused time, with the exception if your cancellation qualifies under our refund policy.

 

In the event of canceling any services, please take back-ups of all necessary information from your service prior to filing the Cancellation Request. Back-ups will be unavailable after the Cancellation has been processed and all data will be removed from our servers at that time as a part of the termination process.

 

Helpful Related Articles