Search The Hostwinds Guides Knowledge Base

Why Do I Have an Invoice for Extra Volume Usage?

Share This Article

If you have received an invoice with an item listed as “Extra Volume usage for {Month} {Year}”, what that charge means is that an Extra Volume was created through your cloud portal in the listed month/year. These invoices can sometime be for as little as a few cents, and can change month-to-month, due to the nature of how hourly billing works.

This guide goes over what a Volume is, how they are billed, and why you may have been invoiced for one.

What is a Volume?

A volume is a detachable storage device that you can attach to a server to act as a secondary drive. You can think of it as like a USB drive, or secondary hard drive that you can plug into your server.

They are created through your Cloud Portal, then can be attached and mounted to any VPS server that you own.

You can find our Volume management guide here.

How are Volumes Billed?

Extra volumes are treated as hourly storage objects, similar to Object Storage and Snapshots.

What this means, is that for every hour the volume exists, you are charged a certain amount per GB of the size of the volume.

This amount is $0.000423860 per 10 GB ($0.000042386 per GB), which comes out to be about $0.30 per 10 GB per month.

This makes it so that you are only charged for the time that you had the Volume, and not for any extra time when the Volume did not exist.

Your cloud portal keeps track of these charges, and you can view the pricing breakdown by hour in your cloud portal under the Account -> Billing section.

Cloud Portal Billing

Then, on the 1st of the next month, the hourly charges from the previous month are totaled and invoiced to you.

You can find more details about how hourly billing works here.

What do I do if I No Longer Want an Extra Volume?

If you no longer want or need the extra volume, to avoid it from accumulating more charges, the volume would need to be deleted.

Deleting a volume permanently deletes any data that is on it.

It is highly recommended to backup any data you need from it before deleting the volume.

To delete a volume, you would go to the Volumes section of your cloud portal, located under Storage -> Volumes.

Storage Volumes

If the volume is still attached to a service, then to detach you need need to select Actions -> Detach Volume on the volume you want to delete.

If you have a Linux VPS that the volume it attached to, and it is being mounted using your /etc/fstab file, you may want to remove the mounting statement from your /etc/fstab file and unmount it or restart the server before detaching the volume.

Detach Volume

Once the volume is not attached to any servers, you can then select Actions -> Delete Volume on it.

Delete Volume

After deleting a volume, you may still receive one more invoice for it on the 1st of the next month. That invoice would be for the time the volume existed from the 1st of the current month to the time the volume was deleted.

Related Articles