You may find that at some point you have a user account that is no longer needed and needs to be removed from your server. As always, we suggest making a snapshot backup before making changes to your account and before following this guide.
Delete A User In Debian
Deleting a user in Debian is a very simply process, however before we being you’ll need to go ahead and login to your server via SSH. If this is not something that you’re familiar with, please refer to our article: Connecting to Your Server Via SSH. There are two different methods for deleting user accounts and virtual users off a Debian installation.
If you’d like to remove the user account but keep all the files associated with that account, use the following command as the root, or sudo user. If you are the sudo user, please ensure to use the sudo command before entering in the rest of the command and replacing <username> below with the actual username you would like to delete:
If you’d like to remove the user account and delete all the files from their home directory and mail spool, use the following command as the root, or sudo user. If you are the sudo user, please ensure to use the sudo command before entering the rest of the command
userdel -r <username>