Search The Hostwinds Guides Knowledge Base

How To Publish Your Site With Weebly

Share This Article

Before your Weebly site will be publicly visible to everyone with access to the internet, you will first need to publish it. Thankfully it is just a click away, and is painfully easy. All it takes is the click of a button and the site is live. Every time you make changes to your Weebly site, be it through the site builder itself, or within the Store builder, you will need to Publish your site in order for the changes to be visible.

It is important to note that the information provided in this guide is for informational purposes only. The premium features and changes that are made after the time writing this guide may be different and will be displayed to you in your Weebly account when editing your site through Weebly. Please open a ticket with our Support Team if you do have any questions so that we can help.

How To Publish Your Weebly Site

Step One: Navigate to your Weebly Site Builder to Edit your Site.

Step Two: Select Publish from the Top menu bar when in the Build section of the Weebly Site Builder.

Weebly Publish Site Button Location

 

After clicking on Publish it will begin the process of taking the site live. Essentially, what this does is uploads the files to your hosting plan for the main directory of the domain that you are editing the site for. If you have existing files in the sites main directory, however, it will replace these files without warning. As such, it is recommended to only Publish to an empty directory to prevent data loss of existing files that are currently in place.

How To Unpublish Your Weebly Site

Step One: Navigate to your Weebly Site Builder to Edit your Site.

Step Two: Go to your Weebly Settings from the Options at the top

The Settings option in the Weebly panel

Step Three: From the Weebly Settings page, make sure you are in the General Section.

The General tab for the Weebly Settings

Step Four: At the bottom of the General tab, you will find the Un-publish section.

The un-publish option in Weebly's General Settings

Step Five: Clicking on Un-publish Site will prompt for a confirmation before any changes are made.

Weebly Unpublish Confirmation Dialog

Step Six: When you are ready, you can click on Yes, un-publish, and Weebly will begin the process of Unpublishing your site.

When Weebly un-publishes a site, it will remove any files that were previously published to your sites file folder. This will not revert it to what it was previously. If you want to revert back, you will need a backup of what the site previously was and restore from that. With our Backups addon, you can get Nightly backups of your full cPanel, including your sites files.

Related Articles

If you should have any questions or would like assistance, do feel free to contact us through Live Chat, on our Phones, or by submitting a ticket with our Technical Support team.